UN Specialized Agencies

by Alliya Dulaney

The UN system, also known unofficially as the “UN family,” is made up of the UN itself and a series of Programs, Funds and Specialized Agencies, all with their own leadership and budget.

UN day, specialized agencies photo courtesy of Better World Campaign

Specialized agencies as stated by the UN website are “international organizations that coordinate their work with the United Nations through negotiated agreements.” All current 15 specialized agencies are associated with the UN but are legally independent. This independence means agencies have separate members, rules and budgets. These agencies include:

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)

International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)

International Labor Organization (ILO)

International Maritime Organization (IMO)

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

International Telecommunications Union (ITU)

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

Universal Postal Union (UPU)

World Bank Group

World Health Organization (WHO)

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)